Twenty local governments support more state transportation funding

The need to increase state transportation funding has been formally recognized and endorsed by unanimous vote of the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) board.

The MPO represents and reflects the transportation interests of 20 local governments in the Greater Des Moines metro, including 16 cities, three counties and the Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority (DART).  The MPO board last week adopted a resolution in support of increased state funding for all modes of transportation, of more local options for generating transportation revenue, and of indexing state transportation funding to keep pace with inflation.

“Transportation is the lifeblood of local economies, and it is clear that additional state funding is needed for the Greater Des Moines region to stay competitively nationally,” MPO Board Chair and Polk County Supervisor Tom Hockensmith said. “Residents of Greater Des Moines recognize that the state’s transportation funding has fallen behind other states, and they understand and support the need for investing in the transportation network that they rely on every day.”

MPO member governments include:

  • Altoona
  • Ankeny
  • Bondurant
  • Carlisle
  • Clive
  • Des Moines
  • Grimes
  • Johnston
  • Mitchellville
  • Norwalk
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Polk City
  • Urbandale
  • Waukee
  • Windsor Heights
  • Dallas County
  • Polk County
  • Warren County
  • Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority (DART)