The Tomorrow Plan Steering Committee and Implementation Team

The Tomorrow Plan Steering Committee was developed in 2010 to guide the creation of The Tomorrow Plan, which is a plan that provides a vision for the Greater Des Moines Area’s future that focuses on the economy, the environment, community vitality, and regional cooperation. The plan’s goals are to create a resilient regional economy, improve the region’s environmental health and access to the outdoors, further the health and well-being of all residents in the region, and increase regional cooperation and efficiency at all levels.

Since the plan’s completion and adoption by Des Moines metro communities in 2013, The Tomorrow Plan Steering Committee has transitioned from developing the plan to implementing the plan’s goals and many objectives. In 2015, a smaller Implementation Team was created to focus on devising and carrying out implementation tactics.

More information on The Tomorrow Plan

Please visit the following sites for more information on The Tomorrow Plan:

Implementation Phase (post November 2013) —
Development Phase (pre November 2013) —


Meetings of The Tomorrow Plan Steering Committee are held twice annually. Meetings of The Tomorrow Plan Implementation Team are held six times annually, including two meetings held in conjunction with the Steering Committee’s biannual meetings.

Agendas Minutes & Presentations Supplemental Items*
November 2015 Agenda Minutes November 2015 Presentation
June 2014 Agenda Minutes
Housing Tomorrow Document
Implementation Activities
February 2014 Agenda Minutes  February Meeting Presentation

*Supplemental items included are versions that were presented at that meeting.

Steering Committee Members

Angela Connolly (County Supervisor, Polk County)
Frank Cownie (Mayor, City of Des Moines)

Tom Ahart (Superintendent, Des Moines Public Schools)
Bob Andeweg (Mayor, City of Urbandale)
Tom Armstrong (Mayor, Des Moines Area MPO)
Elisabeth Buck ( United Way of Central Iowa)
Eric Burmeister (Executive Director, Polk County Housing Trust Fund)
Jay Byers (Greater Des Moines Partnership)
Chris Coleman (Council Member, City of Des Moines)
Marvin DeJear (Evelyn Davis Center)
Paula Dierenfeld (Mayor, City of Johnston)
Mark Hanson (County Supervisor, Dallas County)
Tom Hockensmith (County Supervisor, Polk County)
Larry James (Urban Land Institute)
Kristi Knous (Chief Executive Officer, Des Moines Community Foundation)
Izaah Knox (Des Moines Area Community College)
Tammie Krausman (Iowa Department of Natural Resources)
Brian Laurenzo, (Des Moines Area MPO)
Luis Leon (LT Leon Associates)
Gary Lorenz (Mayor, City of Ankeny)
Bob Mahaffey (Council Member, City of Des Moines)
Dr. Francis Owusu (Community Regional Planning Department, Iowa State University)
Alba Perez
Elizabeth Presutti (General Manager, DART)
Ruth Randleman (Mayor, City of Carlisle)
Linda Schemmel (Planner, City of West Des Moines)
Scott Sanders (City Manager, City of Des Moines)
Cory Sharp (Incoming President, Young Professionals Connection)
Kent Sovern (Director, Iowa AARP)
Frank Strong
Russ Trimble (Council Member, City of West Des Moines)
Clemen Wilcox (Everything-Spanish)

Implementation Team

Larry James, Urban Land Institute
Revernd Brigitte Black, Bethel AMEC
Kent Sovern, AARP
Rick Kozin, Polk County Public Health Departments
Nate Hoogeveen, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Josh Hellyer, Polk County Housing Trust Fund
Amber Lynch, City of Des Moines Planning
Lisa Hein, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation
Siobhan Spain, DesMoinesArts
Mary Lawyer, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield
Ben Champ, City of Pleasant Hill Assistant City Manager
Mike Kulik
Tiffany Tauscheck, Greater Des Moines Partnership
Zack Mannheimer, Des Moines Social Club
Justin Doyle, MODUS Engineering
Amanda Wanke, DART
Colleen MacRae
Scott McGee, Kum and Go
Curtis Brown, City of Urbandale
Brian Buethe, Grimes Chamber
Jake Christensen, Christensen Development
Tom Ahart, Des Moines Schools

Staff Contact

For more information or copies of past agendas or minutes, please contact Zach Young.