Watershed Management Authorities

A Watershed Management Authority, also known as a WMA, is a mechanism for cities, counties, Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) and stakeholders to cooperatively engage in watershed planning and management. A WMA is formed by a Chapter 28E Agreement, does not have taxing authority and may not acquire property through eminent domain.

Three watershed management authorities have been established within the Greater Des Moines region, including:

Four Mile Creek WMA
Mud, Camp and Spring Creeks WMA
Walnut Creek WMA


Other watersheds in the region do not have watershed authorities.

Click here for a map of all watersheds in Central Iowa (PDF)

Click here for a one-page summary of watershed management authorities by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (PDF)