Meeting Minutes

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 4:00 p.m., Thursday, August 16, 2018 Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room

The MPO held a meeting at 4:00 p.m. on August 16, 2018, in the Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on August 15, 2018. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

MPO Representatives Present:

Vern Willey | City of Altoona Kyle Mertz | City of Altoona Paul Moritz | City of Ankeny Brian Lohse | City of Bondurant Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle John Edwards | City of Clive Ted Weaver | City of Clive Mark Hanson | Dallas County Chris Coleman | City of Des Moines Laura Graham | City of Des Moines Frank Cownie | City of Des Moines Scott Sanders | City of Des Moines Matt Anderson | City of Des Moines Terry Vorbrich | City of Des Moines Kandi Reindl-Sullivan City of Des Moines Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Mike Ludwig | City of Des Moines Tom Armstrong| City of Grimes Tom Leners | Madison County Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk Mark Konrad | City of Pleasant Hill Angela Connolly | Polk County Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Creighton Cox | City of Urbandale Mike Carver | City of Urbandale Allan Adams | Van Meter** Dean Yordi | Warren County Tim Moerman | City of Waukee Laura Reveles | City of West Des Moines Russ Trimble | City of West Des Moines Jamie Letzring | City of West Des Moines

MPO Representatives Absent:

David Jones | City of Ankeny Gary Lorenz | City of Ankeny Dave Chelsvig | City of Cumming Elizabeth Presutti | DART Jill Altringer | City of Grimes Ryan Waller | City of Indianola Tom Cope | City of Johnston Paula Dierenfeld | City of Johnston Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville Luke Nelson | City of Norwalk Gary Mahannah | City of Polk City Tom Hockensmith | Polk County Bill Peard | City of Waukee Steve Gaer | City of West Des Moines Darla Hugaboom | FHWA Kevin Foley Des Moines Airport * * Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives ** Associate/Non-Voting Representatives

Others Present:

Clifford Leonard, Public A.J. Mumm, Polk County EMA

MPO Staff Present:

Todd Ashby | Executive Director Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director Zach Young | Principal Planner Mike Armstrong | Senior Planner Allison Riley | Associate Planner Tracey Deckard | Office Manager Maria Socha | Intern

1. Call to Order

Andy Loonan | IDOT *

MPO Vice Chair Joe Gatto recognized a quorum and called the August 16, 2018, meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Joseph Jones | City of Windsor Heights

Sarah Constable-Runkel | HIRTA

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization August 16, 2018 meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization's June minutes as amended.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of Financial Statements

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization's Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Contracts and Expenses

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of contract for modeling Services by HDR in the amount of \$51,367.75.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the contract for modeling Services by HDR in the amount of \$51,367.75

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. Public Comment

None

7. Presentation: Polk County Emergency Management Recap

A.J. Mumm from Polk County Emergency Management presents about recent disaster events and their recovery in Polk County.

8. Presentation: Iowa Department of Transportation Update on District 1 Changes

Andy Loonan from the IDOT presents.

9. Executive Director Contract

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of Executive Director Contract.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Executive Director's Contract.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. <u>City of Elkhart Associate Membership</u>

Staff presented. Recommend accepting the City of Elkhart as an associate, non-voting member of the MPO.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve accepting the City of Elkhart as an associate, non-voting member of the MPO.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Policy Committee Restructure

Executive Director presented. Discussion ensued. Report and discussion only.

12. Fiscal Years 2019-2022 Transportation Capital Improvement Program Development

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Fiscal Years 2019-2022 Transportation Capital Improvement Program.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

13. End-of-Year Financial Report

Staff presented. Report only and discussion only.

14. <u>Iowa's Clean Air Attainment Program Applications</u>

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

15. Highway Trust Fund

Staff presented Report only.

16. **Upcoming Events**

Staff presented. Report only.

17. Other Non-Action Items of interest to the Committee

None.

18. Next Meeting Date- September 20, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

19. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Vice Chair Joe Gatto adjourned the meeting at 5:13 p.m.