Meeting Minutes

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 4:00 p.m., Thursday, February 21, 2019 Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room

The MPO held a meeting at 4:00 p.m. on February 21, 2019, in the Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on February 14, 2019. <u>In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.</u>

MPO Representatives Present:

Kyle Mertz | City of Altoona David Jones | City of Ankeny Gary Lorenz | City of Ankeny Marketa Oliver | City of Bondurant Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle Ted Weaver | City of Clive Dave Chelsvig | City of Cumming** Mark Hanson | Dallas County Amanda Wanke | DART Chris Coleman | City of Des Moines Connie Boesen | City of Des Moines Frank Cownie | City of Des Moines Bill Gray City of Des Moines Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola** Paula Dierenfeld | City of Johnston Tom Leners | Madison County** Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville Sara Kurovski | City of Pleasant Hill Jeff Walters | Polk City Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Aaron Dekock | Warren County Tim Moerman | City of Waukee Tom Hadden | City of West Des Moines Andy Loonan | IDOT * Kevin Foley Des Moines Airport *

MPO Representatives Absent:

Tom Armstrong | City of Grimes
Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk
Matt McCoy | Polk County
Allan Adams | Van Meter**
Steve Gaer | City of West Des Moines
Joseph Jones | City of Windsor Heights
Julia Castillo | HIRTA*
Darla Hugaboom | FHWA*
Mark Bechtel | FTA*

* Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives
** Associate/Non-Voting Representatives

Others Present:

Clifford Leonard, Public
Manisha Paudel | City of Des Moines
Holly Clark | City of Des Moines
Scott Sanders | City of Des Moines
Scott Brennan | Davis Brown Law Firm

MPO Staff Present:

Todd Ashby | Executive Director Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director Zach Young | Principal Planner Tracey Deckard | Office Manager Andrew Collings | Senior Planner Sreyoshi Chakraborty | Senior Planner Allison van Pelt | Associate Planner

1. Call to Order

MPO Vice Chair Joe Gatto recognized a quorum and called the February 21, 2019, meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization February 21, 2019 meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization's January 17, 2019 minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of Financial Statements

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization's Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Approval of Contracts/Expenses

Executive Director presented. Recommend accepting the recommendation of the Executive Committee to approve financial support for Capital Crossroads at the budgeted amount of \$25,000.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Capital Crossroads funding of \$25,000.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. Presentation: City of Des Moines' Bridging the Gap

Des Moines Civil and Human Rights staff presented.

[Chris Coleman arrives 4:08]

7. Calendar Year 2019 Election of Officers

Executive Director presented. Recommend accepting the Nominating Committee's recommendation for 2019 Executive Committee Chairs to include:

Steve Gaer, Chair; Joe Gatto, Vice-Chair; Gary Lorenz, Secretary/Treasurer

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Calendar Year 2019 Executive Committee officers.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8. Lobbyists to Represent the MPO

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of official lobbyists for the MPO. It was determined that any elected officials need not be registered.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the lobbyists for the MPO to include Todd Ashby, Dylan Mullenix and MPO General Counsel.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Banking Services Request for Proposals

Executive Director presented. Recommend allowing MPO staff to issue the RFP for banking services.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to allow staff to issue the RFP for banking services.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. Safety Targets

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the 2015-2019 safety performance targets. Discussion ensued. Requested preamble to indicate that the MPO strives to reduce or eliminate any accidents but per requirements of the IDOT safety targets will be set.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2015-2019 safety performance targets with the requested preamble.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Dart and M PO Memorandum of Understanding

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the updated MPO-DART MOU.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the updated MPO-DART MOU.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

12. <u>Legislative Update – House File 41</u>

Staff presented. Recommend action regarding transportation related bills in the Iowa Legislature.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to register against HF 41 and SSB 1087

and contact legislators to share the MPO's position.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

13. Quarterly Budget Report

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

14. Fiscal year 2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget Development

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

15. Federal Fiscal Year 2019-2022 Transportation Improvement Program Development

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

16. Upcoming Events

Staff presented. Information only.

17. Other Non-Action Items of interest to the Committee

None.

18. Next Meeting Date- April 18, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

19. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Vice Chair Joe Gatto adjourned the meeting at 4:51 p.m.