Meeting Minutes

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 4:00 p.m., Thursday, February 20, 2020 Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room

The MPO held a meeting at 4:00 p.m. on February 20, 2020, in the Des Moines Area MPO Burnham Conference Room. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on February 14,2020. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

MPO Representatives Present:

Gary Lorenz | City of Ankeny David Jones | City of Ankeny Marketa Oliver | City of Bondurant Ted Weaver | City of Clive Brent Highfill | City of Cumming** Mark Hanson | Dallas County Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Bill Gray | City of Des Moines Chris Coleman | City of Des Moines Connie Boesen | City of Des Moines Scott Sanders | City of Des Moines Scott Mikkelsen | City of Grimes Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk Sara Kurovski | City of Pleasant Hill Jeff Walters | Polk City Matt McCoy | Polk County Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Courtney Clarke | City of Waukee Laura Reveles | City of West Des Moines Dave Burgess | City of Windsor Heights Kevin Foley | Des Moines Airport * Brooke Ramsey | HIRTA* Andy Loonan | IDOT *

MPO Representatives Absent:

Kyle Mertz | City of Altoona
Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle
Elizabeth Presutti | DART
Colton Fors | City of Elkhart
Ryan Waller | City of Indianola**
Jim Evans | City of Johnston
Aaron Price | Madison County**
Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville
Travis Brout | Van Meter**
Aaron Dekock | Warren County
Tom Hadden | City of West Des Moines

Steve Gaer | City of West Des Moines

Darla Hugaboom | FHWA* Mark Bechtel | FTA*

- * Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives
- ** Associate/Non-Voting Representative

Others Present:

Clifford Leonard, Public

MPO Staff Present:

Scott Brennan | MPO General Counsel
Todd Ashby | Executive Director
Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Allison van Pelt | Associate Planner
Zhi Chen | Associate Planner
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager
Aspen Pflanz | Intern

1. Call to Order

MPO Chair, Joe Gatto recognized a quorum and called the February 20, 2020, meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan

Planning Organization February 20, 2020 meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan

Planning Organization's January 23, 2020 minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of Financial Statements

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the Des Moines Area Metropolitan

Planning Organization's Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Public Comment on MPO Actions

None.

6. Presentation: Polk County Conservation Water Quality Monitoring Programs

Rich Leopold with Polk County Conservation presented.

7. Election of Calendar Year 2020 Officers

Chair presented. Executive Committee officers for Calendar Year 2020 are:

Matt McCoy - Vice Chair

Sara Kurvoski – Secretary/Treasurer

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the CY2020 Officers.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8. FY 2020 Budget Amendment

Staff presented. Recommend approval of FY 2020 Budget Amendment

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the FY 2020 Budget Amendment.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. FFY 2020-2023 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the FFY 2020-2023 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment from the City of Norwalk.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the request by the City of Norwalk to

amend the FFY 2020-2023 TIP.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. FY 2020 Central Iowa Trail Condition Report

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the FY 2020 Central Iowa Trail Condition Report

Moтion: A motion was made and seconded to approve the FY 2020 Central lowa Trail

Condition Report.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Safety Targets

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the 2016-2020 safety targets for the Des Moines Planning Area.

MOTION: A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2016-2020 Safety Targets.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

12. Fiscal Year 2021 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

13. Quarterly Budget Report

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

14. Fiscal Year 2019 Audit

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

15. <u>Illustrative Project List</u>

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

16. FFY 2024 Surface Transportation Bock Grant Applications

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

17. FFY 2024 Transportation Alternative Program Applications

Staff presented. Report and discussion only.

18. Water Trails Update

Executive Director presented. Report and discussion only.

19. State Legislative Update

Executive Director presented. Report and discussion only

20. Upcoming Events

Staff presented. Information only.

21. Other Non-Action Items of interest to the Committee

Report was given by staff regarding the Rain Campaign, additional discussion was held regarding the status of the Purple Heart Highway/Interstate. Tom Armstrong was thanked for his service on the Policy Committee and to Steve Gaer for serving as President the past 2 years.

22. Next Meeting Date April 16, 2020 at 4:00 p.m.

23. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Chair Joe Gatto adjourned the meeting at $4:42\ p.m.$