

U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal Transit Administration 901 Locust Street, Room 404 Kansas City, MO 64106 816-329-3920 816-329-3921 (fax) Federal Highway Administration 105 Sixth Street Ames, IA 50010-6337 515-233-7300 515-233-7499 (fax)

July 8, 2021

Mr. R. Todd Ashby, AICP CEO/Executive Director Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 420 Watson Powell, Jr. Way, Suite 200 Des Moines, IA 50309

Subject: 2021 Des Moines TMA Certification

Review Final Report

Dear Mr. Ashby:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) are pleased to provide you with the enclosed final report for the Des Moines Transportation Management Area (TMA) Certification Review which was conducted April 22-28, 2021.

The FHWA and FTA are required to conduct planning certification reviews, per 23 USC 134 and 49 USC 5303, of the transportation planning process for all urbanized areas with population greater than 200,000 at least every four years. The objective of the review is to determine whether the metropolitan transportation planning process meets the Federal planning requirements.

Based on the review conducted and ongoing involvement by FHWA and FTA, the transportation planning process in the Des Moines TMA is certified as meeting Federal requirements. The effective dates for this certification action are July 9, 2021 to July 8, 2025.

The report includes several recommendations which we believe will improve the planning process in the greater Des Moines metropolitan area. Our staff will work collaboratively with your staff, as well as staff from the Iowa Department of Transportation (IDOT) and Des Moines Area Transit Authority (DART), to implement these recommendations as best seems appropriate.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Darla Hugaboom at (515) 233-7305 or Gerri Doyle at (816) 329-3928.

Sincerely,

Mokhtee Ahmad Regional Administrator Federal Transit Administration Timothy C. Marshall, P.E.
Division Administrator
Federal Highway Administration

Cc: Dylan Mullenix, DMAMPO Zach Young, DMAMPO Andy Loonan, IaDOT Garrett Pedersen, IaDOT Kristin Haar, IaDOT Sean Litteral, FHWA Cathy Monroe, FTA Luis Montoya, DART