MEETING MINUTES

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Technical Committee 9:30 a.m., Thursday, July 7, 2022

The MPO TTC held a virtual meeting at 9:30 a.m., July 7, 2022. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the TTC representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on June 30, 2022.

Representatives Present:

John Dostart | City of Altoona Amy Quartell | City of Ankeny Maggie Murray | City of Bondurant Jeff May | City of Clive Al Miller | Dallas County John A Davis | City of Des Moines Steve Naber | City of Des Moines Bert Drost | City of Des Moines Luis Montoya | DART Matt Ahrens | City of Grimes Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola** Dave Wilwerding | City of Johnston Tom Leners | Madison County ** Luke Parris | City of Norwalk Madeline Sturms | City of Pleasant Hill Chelsea Huisman | City of Polk City Bret VandeLune | Polk County Kristin Brostrom | City of Urbandale Rudy Koester | City of Waukee Eric Petersen | City of West Des Moines Karen Marren | City of West Des Moines Dalton Jacobus | City of Windsor Heights Darla Hugaboom | FHWA John Gibson | FHWA Andy Loonan | IDOT

Representatives Absent:

Mark Mueller | City of Ankeny
Jeff Schug | City of Carlisle
Kathie Hungerfield | City of Cumming
Dustin Tieg | City of Elkhart
Paul Green | City of Mitchellville
Dave Herman | City of Van Meter
David Carroll | Warren County
Brian Belt | DSM International Airport
Julia Castillo | HIRTA
Gerri Doyle | Federal Transit Administration*
* Non-Voting, Advisory Representative
** Non-Voting, Associate Representative

Staff Present:

Todd Ashby | Executive Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager
Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner
Zhi Chen | Senior Planner
Gunnar Olson | Communications & Strategy Manager
Aspen Pflanz | Associate Planner
Caleb Knutson | MIPA Senior Planner
Lucas Young | Intern
Enya Sid | Intern

Others Present:

Mark Beeman | NVI Advanced Materials Group Perry Beeman | NVI Advanced Materials Group Andrew LaCroix | NVI Advanced Materials Group Matt Riesberg | Traffic Control Corporation Mike Yonker | Grimes Asphalt Clifford Leonard | Public

1. Call to Order

TTC Chair recognized a quorum and called the July 7, 2022, meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Huisman and seconded by Sturms to approve the MPO TTC's

meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by Koester and seconded by Huisman to approve the MPO TTC June

2, 2022, meeting minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. PRESENTATION: New Village Initiative Advanced Materials Group (NVIAMG)

Representatives of New Village Initiative Advanced Materials Group and Grimes Asphalt and Paving Corp. presented about the use of a polymer-based asphalt additive to increase pavement durability.

5. Final FFY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the Final Federal Fiscal Years 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program.

MOTION: A motion was made by Dostart and seconded by Koester to approve the final Federal Fiscal Years 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. MIPA Update

MIPA Senior Planner presented. Provided an update on MIPA progress and future activities planned. Report and discussion only.

7. <u>lowa's Clean Air Attainment Program Applications</u>

Planning Manager presented. Report to provide dates and deadlines for submitting applications for the FFY 2024 Iowa Clean Air Attainment Program (ICCAP)

Report and discussion only.

8. Safe Streets for All Grant

Planning Manager presented. Update on the Safe Streets for All Grant application. Policy Committee approved the request for the MPO to pursue this grant funding with the caveat that staff provide more details on local match prior to submitting the application.

Report and discussion only.

9. **Upcoming Events**

Information only.

10. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

None.

11. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday, August 4, 2022.

12. Adjournment

The MPO TTC's July 7, 2022, meeting was adjourned at 10:08 a.m.