Meeting Minutes Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 4:00 p.m., Thursday, August 18, 2022

The MPO held a hybrid in-person/ virtual meeting at 4:00 p.m. on August 18, 2022. The MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on August 11, 2022. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

MPO Representatives Present:

Elizabeth Burns Thompson | City of Altoona Mark Holm | City of Ankeny Doug Elrod | City of Bondurant Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle Kathie Hungerford | City of Cumming** Frank Cownie | City of Des Moines Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Carl Voss | City of Des Moines Scott Sanders | City of Des Moines Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk Len Murray | City of Pleasant Hill Jeff Walters | Polk City Tom Hockensmith | Polk County Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Laura Reveles | City of West Des Moines Jamie Letzring | City of West Des Moines Mike Jones | City of Windsor Heights Kevin Foley | Des Moines International Airport Andy Loonan | IDOT *

MPO Representatives Absent:

David Jones | City of Ankeny
Ted Weaver | City of Clive
Mark Hanson | Dallas County
Elizabeth Presutti | DART
Josh Mandelbaum | City of Des Moines
Colton Fors | City of Elkhart
Scott Mikkelsen | City of Grimes

Stephanie Erickson | City of Indianola**
Jim Evans | City of Johnston
Heather Stancil | Madison County**
Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville
Aaron Dekock | Warren County
Travis Brott | Van Meter**
Courtney Clarke | City of Waukee
Julia Castillo | HIRTA*
Gerri Doyle | FTA*
Eva Steinman | FTA*
* Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives
** Associate/Non-Voting Representative

Others Present:

Clifford Leonard | Public

MPO Staff Present:

Scott Brennan | MPO General Counsel
Todd Ashby | Executive Director
Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner
Zhi Chen | Associate Planner
Aspen Pflanz | Planner II
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager

1. Call To Order

Chair Andeweg recognized a quorum and called the August Policy Meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Voss and seconded by Riva to approve the Des Moines Area

Metropolitan Planning Organization August 18, 2022, meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by Murray and seconded by Riva to approve the Des Moines Area

Metropolitan Planning Organization's June meeting minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of the Financial Statement

MOTION: A motion was made by Voss and seconded by Murray to approve the Des Moines

Area Metropolitan Planning Organizations Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Contracts and Expenses

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of the Jester Insurance invoice of \$11,961.00 and the Now Now LLC invoice for website update in the amount of \$16,800.00.

MOTION: A motion was made by Randleman and seconded by Riva to approve the 5.5 percent salary increase for the Executive Director.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. Public Comment

None.

7. Iowa Department of Transportation

lowa DOT presented an update on projects in the region. Discussion ensued.

Presentation and discussion only.

8. Executive Director Annual Review

Jeff Walters and Ruth Randleman from the Review Committee presented. Recommend approval of a 5.5 percent salary increase for the Executive Director.

MOTION: A motion was made by Hockensmith and seconded by Gatto to approve the FY 2022-

2025 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments from the Iowa DOT.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Safe Streets for All Grant

Planning Manager presented. Recommend approval for the MPO staff to develop a Safe Streets for All grant application for a regional Comprehensive Safety Action Plan. Discussion ensued regarding the options for the 20% local match. Advised the IDOT would help with this, no amount committed at this time.

MOTION: A motion was made by Voss and seconded by Jones to approve the MPO staff to

develop a Safe Streets for All grant application for a regional Comprehensive Safety Action Plan, determine the contribution of the IDOT and pay the remaining matching

funds from the MPO's reserve funds.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. FY 2024 Iowa clean Air Attainment Program Pre-Applications

Planning Manager presented. Report on Fiscal Year 2024 Iowa Clean Air Attainment Program applications. Report and discussion only.

11. Electric Vehicle Workshop Series Development & Survey

Staff presented. Report on MPO Staff's development of an Electric Vehicle (EV) workshop series Including a request from TTC members for input.

Report and discussion only.

12. Purple Heart Highway Update

Staff presented. Have been in touch with DOT and they indicated they would provide a report in August with the additional information from the stakeholder meetings. MPO will now initiate implementation and work with other groups including GDMP. Phases of the project and timelines were discussed. Report and discussion only.

13. Water Trails Update

Executive Director presented. Work continues on the revised sub-agreements to update the scope of the project. Sub-agreement drafts should be available in the next month or so. Report and discussion only.

14. Legislative Issues Update

Executive Director presented. Update on appropriation bill. Report and discussion only.

15. Upcoming Events

Information only.

16. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

Staff discussed Iowa's EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan; Executive Director introduced Rhonda Miller, Accountant for the MPO.

17. Next Meeting Date- September 15, 2022, at 4:00 p.m.

18. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Chair Bob Andeweg adjourned the meeting at 5:10 p.m.