Meeting Minutes Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 11:30 a.m., Thursday, April 28, 2023

The MPO held a hybrid in-person/virtual meeting at 11:30 a.m. on April 28, 2023. The MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on April 25, 2023. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

MPO Representatives Present:

Dean O'Connor | City of Altoona Mark Holm | City of Ankeny David Jones | City of Ankeny Doug Elrod | City of Bondurant Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle Ted Weaver | City of Clive Mark Hanson | Dallas County Kathie Hungerford | City of Cumming** Luis Montoya | DART Scott Sanders | City of Des Moines Connie Boesen | City of Des Moines Carl Voss | City of Des Moines Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Josh Mandelbaum | City of Des Moines Pam Cooksey | City of Des Moines Jake Anderson | City of Grimes Jim Evans | City of Johnston Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk Len Murray | City of Pleasant Hill Jeff Walters | Polk City Tom Hockensmith | Polk County Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Courtney Clarke | City of Waukee Matt McKinney | City of West Des Moines Tom Hadden | City of West Des Moines Mike Jones | City of Windsor Heights Andy Loonan | IDOT * Kevin Foley | Des Moines International Airport Daniel Nguven | FTA* Julia Castillo | HIRTA

MPO Representatives Absent:

Colton Fors | City of Elkhart Stephanie Erickson | City of Indianola** Heather Stancil | Madison County** Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville Travis Brott | Van Meter** Mark Snell | Warren County Johnnie Gibson | FHWA Eva Steinman | FTA*

- * Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives
- ** Associate/Non-Voting Representative

Others Present:

Clifford Leonard | Public

MPO Staff Present:

Scott Brennan | MPO General Counsel Todd Ashby | Executive Director Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director Zach Young | Planning Manager Andrew Collings | Principal Planner Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner Zhi Chen | Senior Planner Lucas Young | Senior Planner Carl Saxon | Senior Planner Gunnar Olson | Public Affairs Manager

1. Call To Order

Chair Andeweg recognized a quorum and called the Special April Policy Meeting to order at 11:33 a.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Riva to approve the agenda and seconded by Gatto to approve

the meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. VOTE- Enter Closed Session to Discuss Personnel Matters

MOTION: A motion was made by Gatto and seconded by Riva to enter into closed session.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Closed session: 11:40 a.m. Meeting resumed: 11:46

4. Optional Vote: Action in Public Session Related to Personnel Matters

Chair asked for a motion to approve the leave of absence of Todd Ashby for the remainder of the fiscal year, to approve the non-renewal of the employment contract and to provide a year of severance including benefits beginning on July 1, 2023, and ending on June 30, 2024.

MOTION: A motion was made by Hadden and seconded by Gatto to approve the leave of

absence and the severance package beginning July 1, 2023, and terminating June 30,

2024.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

RUTH RANDLEMAN REQUESTED A ROLL CALL VOTE. UNANIMOUS VOTE FROM ROLL CALL.

5. Next Meeting Date- May 18, 2023, at 4:00 p.m.

6. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Chair Bob Andeweg adjourned the meeting at 11:51 a.m.