MEETING MINUTES

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Technical Committee 9:30 a.m., Thursday, February 2, 2023

The MPO TTC held a virtual meeting at 9:30 a.m., February 2, 2023. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the TTC representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on January 26, 2023,

Representatives Present:

John Dostart | City of Altoona Amy Quartell | City of Ankeny Mark Mueller | City of Ankeny John Horton | City of Bondurant Mitch Holtz | City of Carlisle Jeff May | City of Clive John A Davis | City of Des Moines Steve Naber | City of Des Moines Michael Ludwig | City of Des Moines Luis Montoya | DART Matt Ahrens | City of Grimes Dave Wilwerding | City of Johnston Tom Leners | Madison County ** Luke Parris | City of Norwalk Madeline Sturms | City of Pleasant Hill Chelsea Huisman | City of Polk City Bret VandeLune | Polk County John Larson | City of Urbandale Rudy Koester | City of Waukee Eric Petersen | City of West Des Moines Justin Ernst | City of Windsor Heights Brian Belt | DSM International Airport Andy Loonan | IDOT

Representatives Absent:

Kathie Hungerfield | City of Cumming
Al Miller | Dallas County
Angie Schaffer | City of Elkhart
Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola**
Paul Green | City of Mitchellville
Dave Herman | City of Van Meter
David Carroll | Warren County
Karen Marren | City of West Des Moines
Julia Castillo | HIRTA
Johnnie Gibson | FHWA
Gerri Doyle | Federal Transit Administration*
* Non-Voting, Advisory Representative
** Non-Voting, Associate Representative

Staff Present:

Todd Ashby | Executive Director
Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager
Gunnar Olson | Communications and Strategy Mgr.
Zhi Chen | Senior Planner
Lucas Young | Senior Planner
Carl Saxon | Senior Planner

Others Present

Tracey Bramble | Iowa DOT Marcus Coenen Jeff Sockel Benesch Matt Riesberg

1. Call to Order

TTC Chair recognized a quorum and called the February 2, 2023, meeting to order at 9:31 a.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion: A motion was made by Huisman and seconded by Koester to approve the MPO TTC's

meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by May and seconded by Koester to approve the MPO TTC January

5, 2023, meeting minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. <u>lowa DOT "What Drives You" Driver Safety Campaign</u>

Tracey Bramble from the Iowa DOT presented on a new driver safety campaign to reduce fatalities by changing driver behaviors and attitudes.

5. <u>Election of Calendar Year 2023 Officers</u>

Assistant Director presented. Recommend approval of the Nominating Committee's recommendation to continuation of the current officers in their roles for CY 2023.

MOTION: A motion was made by Dostart and seconded by Davis to approve the Calendar Year 2023

Chair and Vice-Chair.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. FFY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments

Planning Manager presented. Recommend approval of the proposed Federal Fiscal Year 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program amendment from the City of Des Moines.

MOTION: A motion was made by Davis and seconded by Mueller to approve the Federal Fiscal Year

2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program amendment from the City of Des

Moines.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

7. MPO Appointment to SUDAS Board of Directors

Executive Director presented. Recommend reappointment of Mark Mueller as the MPO representative on the Statewide Urban Design and Specifications Board of Directors.

MOTION: A motion was made by Koester and seconded by Huisman to reappointment of Mark

Mueller as the MPO representative on the Statewide Urban Design and Specifications

Board of Directors.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8. Iowa DOT 2019-2023 Safety Performance Targets (PM1)

Staff presented. Report on the Iowa DOT's 2019-2023 Safety Performance Targets. Recommend approval of the Iowa DOT's 2019-2023 Safety Performance Targets.

MOTION: A motion was made by Huisman and seconded by Sturms to approval of the Iowa DOT's

2019-2023 Safety Performance Targets. (PM1)

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Iowa DOT 2022-2025 Pavement and Bridge Performance Targets (PM2)

Staff presented. Report on the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 Pavement and Bridge Performance Targets. Recommend approval of the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 Pavement and Bridge Performance Targets.

MOTION: A motion was made by Mueller and seconded by Huisman to approval of the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 Pavement and Bridge Performance Targets. (PM2)

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. **lowa DOT 2022-2025 System and Freight Performance Targets (PM3)**

Staff presented. Report on the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 System and Freight Performance Targets. (PM3) Recommend approval of the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 System and Freight Performance Targets

MOTION: A motion was made by Mueller and seconded by Dostart to approval of the Iowa DOT's 2022-2025 P System and Freight Performance Targets. (PM3)

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Fiscal Year 2024 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget Development

Assistant Director presented. Discussion of the process to develop the next work program and budget. Report and discussion only.

12. FFY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program Development

Planning Manager presented. Report on the process to develop the Federal Fiscal Years 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program. Report and discussion only.

13. **Upcoming Events**

Information only.

14. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

Planning Manager announced that the MPO/CIRTPA were awarded 1 million dollars from the Safety Action Plan grant. Additional information to be provided.

15. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday, March 2, 2023.

16. Adjournment

The MPO TTC's February 2, 2023, meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.