Meeting Minutes Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 4:00 p.m., Thursday, June 16, 2022

The MPO held a hybrid in-person/virtual meeting at 4:00 p.m. on June 16, 2022. The MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO's representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on June 10, 2022. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional Meeting Notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

MPO Representatives Present:

Mark Holm | City of Ankeny David Jones | City of Ankeny Doug Elrod | City of Bondurant Ruth Randleman | City of Carlisle Ted Weaver | City of Clive Kathie Hungerford | City of Cumming** Luis Montoya | DART Frank Cownie | City of Des Moines Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines Carl Voss | City of Des Moines Pam Cooksey | City of Des Moines Josh Mandelbaum | City of Des Moines Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk Len Murray | City of Pleasant Hill Jeff Walters | Polk City Tom Hockensmith | Polk County Robert Andeweg | City of Urbandale Tom Hadden | City of West Des Moines Kevin Foley | Des Moines International Airport Andy Loonan | IDOT * Brooke Ramsey | | HIRTA

MPO Representatives Absent:

Elizabeth Burns Thompson | City of Altoona Mark Hanson | Dallas County Colton Fors | City of Elkhart Scott Mikkelsen | City of Grimes Stephanie Erickson | City of Indianola** Jim Evans | City of Johnston

Heather Stancil | Madison County** Tammi Dillavou | City of Mitchellville Aaron Dekock | Warren County Travis Brott | Van Meter** Courtney Clarke | City of Waukee Russ Trimble | City of West Des Moines Mike Jones | City of Windsor Heights Julia Castillo | HIRTA* Gerri Doyle | FTA* Eva Steinman | FTA* * Advisory/Non-Voting Representatives

** Associate/Non-Voting Representative

Others Present:

Chris Pickard | Des Moines HBA Clifford Leonard | Public

MPO Staff Present:

Scott Brennan | MPO General Counsel Todd Ashby | Executive Director Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director Zach Young | Planning Manager Andrew Collings | Principal Planner Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner Zhi Chen | Associate Planner Aspen Pflanz | Planner II Tracey Deckard | Office Manager

1. Call To Order

Chair Andeweg recognized a quorum and called the May Policy Meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Murray and seconded by Voss to approve the Des Moines

Area Metropolitan Planning Organization June 16, 2022, meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by Voss and seconded by Mandelbaum to approve the Des

Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization's April meeting minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. Approval of the Financial Statement

MOTION: A motion was made by Hockensmith and seconded by Hadden to approve the Des

Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organizations Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. Contracts and Expenses

None

6. Public Comment

None.

7. <u>Draft FFY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program</u>

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the draft Federal Fiscal Years 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program to forward to the IDOT for their review.

MOTION: A motion was made by Mandelbaum and seconded by Montoya to approve the Des

Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organizations Financial Statements.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

8. FFY 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the FFY 2022-2025 Transportation Improvement Program amendments from Iowa Department of Transportation.

MOTION: A motion was made by Hockensmith and seconded by Gatto to approve the FY 2022-

2025 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments from the Iowa DOT.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

9. Safe Streets for All Grant

Assistant Director presented. Recommend approval for the MPO staff to develop a Safe Streets for All grant application for a regional Comprehensive Safety Action Plan.

MOTION: A motion was made by Hockensmith and seconded by Voss to approve the MPO staff

to develop a Safe Streets for All grant application for a regional Comprehensive Safety

Action Plan

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. Fiscal Year 2023 Investment Policy

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of the Fiscal Year 2023 Investment Policy.

MOTION: A motion was made Hockensmith seconded by Murray to approve the Fiscal Year

2023 Investment Policy.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Self-Certification

Assistant Director presented. Consider approval of the MPO's self-certification of compliance with federal requirements.

MOTION: A motion was made by Hockensmith and seconded by Murray to approve the Self

Certification statement.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

12. Des Moines Industrial's Reimbursement to the MPO

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of the \$250,000 reimbursement from Des Moines Industrial to be paid out quarterly over an eight (8) year period beginning on January 1, 2023.

MOTION: A motion was made by Gatto and seconded by Voss to approve

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

13. Executive director Annual Review and Compensation Adjustment

Ted Weaver, Chair of the Review Committee presented.

Report and discussion only.

14. Federal Aid Swap Funds to Federal Aid Conversation

Principal Planner presented. Report regarding the Iowa DOT'

Report and discussion only.

15. Purple Heart Highway Update

Executive Director presented. Meetings and discussions continue to determine the best way to move forward on this project.

Report and discussion only.

16. Water Trails Update

Executive Director presented. Discussion of the change of scope to reduce costs. Meetings and discussions continue.

Report and discussion only.

17. Economic Development District

Staff presented. Discussion on the progress and status of MIPA.

Report and discussion only.

18. Legislative Issues Update

Assistant Director presented. Update on the local legislative items of interest. Guidance is beginning to come out regarding the Reauthorization bill. Rep. Axne has submitted 15 projects but no information available regarding which projects were submitted. Report and discussion only.

19. Upcoming Events

Information only.

20. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

None

21. Next Meeting Date- August 18, 2022, at 4:00 p.m.

No July Meeting

22. Adjournment

Hearing no objection to the contrary Chair Bob Andeweg adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.