#### **MEETING MINUTES**

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Technical Committee 9:30 a.m., Thursday, May 4, 2023

The MPO TTC held a virtual meeting at 9:30 a.m., May 4, 2023. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the TTC representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on April 28,2023.

## **Representatives Present:**

John Dostart | City of Altoona Amy Quartell | City of Ankeny Mark Mueller | City of Ankeny Mitch Holtz | City of Carlisle Jeff May | City of Clive Al Miller | Dallas County John Davis | City of Des Moines Michael Ludwig | City of Des Moines Steve Naber | City of Des Moines Dave Wilwerding | City of Johnston Luke Parris | City of Norwalk Chelsea Huisman | City of Polk City John Larson | City of Urbandale David Carroll | Warren County Rudy Koester | City of Waukee Eric Petersen | City of West Des Moines Karen Marren | City of West Des Moines Justin Ernst | City of Windsor Heights Andy Loonan | IDOT

## **Representatives Absent:**

John Horton | City of Bondurant Rita Connor | City of Cumming Luis Montoya | DART Angie Schaffer | City of Elkhart Matt Ahrens | City of Grimes Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola\*\* Mike Hackett | Madison County \*\* Paul Green | City of Mitchellville Madeline Sturms | City of Pleasant Hill Bret VandeLune | Polk County Dave Herman | City of Van Meter Julia Castillo | HIRTA Darla Hugaboom | FHWA Brian Belt | DSM International Airport Gerri Doyle | Federal Transit Administration\* \* Non-Voting, Advisory Representative \*\* Non-Voting, Associate Representative

#### **Staff Present:**

Dylan Mullenix | Interim Executive Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager
Gunnar Olson | Communications and Strategy Mgr.
Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner
Zhi Chen | Senior Planner
Carl Saxon | Senior Planner

## **Others Present**

Connie Fortin-Law | Bolton & Menk Dave Dougherty A Putnam

#### 1. Call to Order

TTC Chair recognized a quorum and called the May 4, 2023, meeting to order at 9:32 a.m.

The Chair thanked Todd Ashby for his years of service at the MPO and complimented his accomplishments. Announced that Dylan Mullenix would be Interim Executive Director for the MPO.

[Mike Ludwig joined meeting at 9:34 a.m.]

## 2. Approval of Agenda

**MOTION:** A motion was made by Davis and seconded by Smith to approve the MPO TTC's meeting

agenda.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

**MOTION:** A motion was made by Koester and seconded by Wilwerding to approve the MPO TTC

April 6, 2023, meeting minutes.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## 4. Presentation: Low Salt Roadway

Presentation from Connie Fortin-Law of Bolton & Menk.

#### 5. FY 2024 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget Final Draft

Interim Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of the FY 2024 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget Final Draft.

**MOTION:** A motion was made by Koester and seconded by Mueller to approve the FY 2024 Unified

Planning Work Program and Budget Final Draft.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

## **6.** Agenda misnumbered- no item number six

#### 7. FFY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program Development

Planning Manager presented information regarding the FFY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program Development. Report and discussion only.

## 8. Charging & Fueling Infrastructure Discretionary Grant Program

Staff presented. Report on Charging and Fueling Infrastructure (CFI) Discretionary Grant Program. Report and discussion.

# 9. State Recreation Trail Funding Announcement

Staff presented. Report on State Recreation Trail Funding.

#### 10. Upcoming Events

Information only.

#### 11. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

None.

#### 12. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday, June 1, 2023.

#### 13. Adjournment

The MPO TTC's May 4, 2023, meeting was adjourned at 10:28 a.m.