#### **MEETING MINUTES**

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Technical Committee 9:30 a.m., Thursday, November 3, 2022

The MPO TTC held a virtual meeting at 9:30 a.m., November 3, 2022. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the TTC representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on September 29, 2022.

## **Representatives Present:**

John Dostart | City of Altoona Amy Quartell | City of Ankeny Mark Mueller | City of Ankeny Maggie Murray | City of Bondurant Jeff May | City of Clive John A Davis | City of Des Moines Steve Naber | City of Des Moines Michael Ludwig | City of Des Moines Luis Montoya | DART Matt Ahrens | City of Grimes Dave Wilwerding | City of Johnston Tom Leners | Madison County \*\* Ben Champ | City of Pleasant Hill Bret VandeLune | Polk County John Larson | City of Urbandale David Carroll | Warren County Rudy Koester | City of Waukee Eric Petersen | City of West Des Moines Johnnie Gibson | FHWA Andy Loonan | IDOT

#### **Representatives Absent:**

Jeff Schug | City of Carlisle
Al Miller | Dallas County
Kathie Hungerfield | City of Cumming
Dustin Tieg | City of Elkhart
Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola\*\*
Paul Green | City of Mitchellville
Luke Parris | City of Norwalk
Chelsea Huisman | City of Polk City
Dave Herman | City of Van Meter
Karen Marren | City of West Des Moines
Dalton Jacobus | City of Windsor Heights
Brian Belt | DSM International Airport
Julia Castillo | HIRTA
Gerri Doyle | Federal Transit Administration\*
\* Non-Voting, Advisory Representative

#### **Staff Present:**

Todd Ashby | Executive Director
Zach Young | Planning Manager
Andrew Collings | Principal Planner
Tracey Deckard | Office Manager
Gunnar Olson | Communications and Strategy Mgr.
Zhi Chen | Senior Planner
Lucas Young | Senior Planner
Rhonda Miller | Accountant

# **Others Present:**

Jessica Smith Clifford Leonard | public

\*\* Non-Voting, Associate Representative

#### 1. Call to Order

TTC Chair recognized a quorum and called the November 3, 2022, meeting to order at 9:31 a.m.

# 2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Mueller and seconded by Koester to approve the MPO TTC's

meeting agenda.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

# 3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by Ahrens and seconded by Koester to approve the MPO TTC

November 3, 2022, meeting minutes.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

#### 4. Calendar Year 2023 Meeting Dates

Executive Director presented. Recommend approval of the Calendar Year 2023 Meeting Dates.

MOTION: A motion was made by Carroll and seconded by Mueller to approve the Calendar Year 2023

Meeting Dates.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

# 5. FFY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments

Staff presented. Recommend approval of the Federal Fiscal Year 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program amendment from the City of Des Moines.

**MOTION:** A motion was made by Davis and seconded by Koester to approve the Federal Fiscal Year

2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program amendment from the City of Des Moines.

**MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

# 6. <u>Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Program Schedule</u>

Planning Manager presented. Report on the Federal Fiscal Year 2027 Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Program Schedule.

Report and discussion only.

# 7. DOT Survey- DART Alternate Funding Advisory Committee

Staff presented. Report regarding policymakers seeking input on whether to consider alternative funding sources for public transportation. Survey site provided.

Report and discussion only.

## 8. **Upcoming Events**

Information only.

# 9. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

Staff provided information on the SMART Grant and Thriving Communities Program

# 10. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday, December 1, 2022.

## 11. Adjournment

The MPO TTC's November 3, 2022, meeting was adjourned at 9:44 a.m.