MEETING MINUTES

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

11:30 a.m., Wednesday, April 25, 2023 Des Moines Area MPO | Virtual Meeting

The MPO Executive Committee held a hybrid live/virtual meeting at 11:30 a.m. on April 25, 2023, at the Des Moines Area MPO office and via Zoom. MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the MPO Executive and members on April 24, 2023. In addition to these published tentative minutes, there also may be additional meeting notes on file with the MPO staff that are public records and available upon request as provided by law. These tentative minutes reflect all action taken at the meeting.

Executive Members Present:

Bob Andeweg | City of Urbandale
Stephanie Riva | City of Norwalk
Ted Weaver | City of Clive
Dean O'Connor | City of Altoona
Jeff Walters | City of Polk City
Mark Holm | City of Ankeny
Joe Gatto | City of Des Moines
Len Murray | City of Pleasant Hill
Matthew McKinney | City of West Des Moines
Tom Hockensmith | Polk County

Executive Members Absent:

Frank Cownie | City of Des Moines

Staff Present:

Todd Ashby | Executive Director Dylan Mullenix | Assistant Director Zach Young | Planning Manager Andrew Collings | Principal Planner Tracey Deckard | Office Manager Gunnar Olson | Public Affairs Manager Allison van Pelt | Senior Planner

Others Present:

Amy Beck | Fiedler Law Firm

1. Call to Order

MPO Chair Bob Andeweg called the April 25th meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. A quorum was present.

2. Vote to enter into closed session

MOTION: A motion was made by Holm and seconded by Murray to enter into a closed session. **MOTION CARRIED**

CLOSED SESSION ENTERED 11:31 A.M. CLOSED SESSION ENDED 12:48 P.M.

3. Action in Public Session Related to Personnel Matters

Chair Andeweg called the meeting to order from the closed session. Discussion from Hockensmith and Gatto on their recommendation for the non-renewal of the Executive Director's Contract. Discussion ensued.

MOTION:

A motion was made by Gatto for the non-renewal of the Executive Director's Contract. Seconded by Hockensmith. Role call was taken. In favor of the non-renewal of the contract: Hockensmith, Gatto, Murray, O'Connor. (4) In favor of the continuation of the Executive Director's Contract: Andeweg, Riva, Weaver, McKinney, Holm, Walters. (6).

MOTION DEFEATED.

Request from Hockensmith and Gatto to bring the matter before the Policy Committee. Discussion ensued. MPO Chair set a Special Policy Meeting for Friday, April 28, 2023, beginning at 11:30 a.m.

4. Meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.