MEETING MINUTES

Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Transportation Technical Committee 9:30 a.m., Thursday, October 5, 2023

The MPO TTC held a virtual meeting at 9:30 a.m., October 5, 2023. Before the meeting, the MPO staff emailed agenda packets to the TTC representatives and posted the agenda at the MPO office on September 29, 2023.

Representatives Present:

John Dostart | City of Altoona Amy Quartell | City of Ankeny Mark Mueller | City of Ankeny John Horton | City of Bondurant Mitch Holtz | City of Carlisle Jeff May | City of Clive John A Davis | City of Des Moines Steve Naber | City of Des Moines Michael Ludwig | City of Des Moines Luis Montoya | DART Matt Ahrens | City of Grimes Dave Wilwerding | City of Johnston Tom Leners | Madison County Luke Parris | City of Norwalk Madeline Sturms | City of Pleasant Hill Bret VandeLune | Polk County John Larson | City of Urbandale Tim Hill | Warren County Rudy Koester | City of Waukee Eric Petersen | City of West Des Moines Karen Marren | City of West Des Moines Zac Bitting | IDOT Kevin Foley | DSM International Airport *

Representatives Absent:

Rita Connor | City of Cumming**

Murray McConnell | Dallas County

Angie Schaffer | City of Elkhart**

Charlie Dissell | City of Indianola**

Paul Green | City of Mitchellville

Chelsea Huisman | City of Polk City

Dave Herman | City of Van Meter**

Justin Ernst | City of Windsor Heights

Julia Castillo | HIRTA

Darla Hugaboom | FHWA*

Gerri Doyle | Federal Transit Administration*

* Non-Voting, Advisory Representative

** Non-Voting, Associate Representative

Staff Present:

Dylan Mullenix | Interim Executive Director Zach Young | Planning Manager Andrew Collings | Principal Planner Gunnar Olson | Public Affairs Manager Tracey Deckard | Office Manager Zhi Chen | Senior Planner Carl Saxon | Senior Planner

Others Present

Allison van Pelt | Polk County Dave Dougherty | HR Green Doug Ollendike | City of Clive

1. Call to Order

TTC Chair recognized a quorum and called the October 5, 2023, meeting to order at 9:31 a.m.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOTION: A motion was made by Sturms and seconded by Wilwerding to approve the MPO TTC's

meeting agenda.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made by Mueller and seconded by Dostart to approve the MPO TTC

August meeting minutes.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. <u>Presentation: Update on new terminal for Des Moines Airport Authority</u>

Kevin Foley presented.

5. UP EPA Climate Pollution Reduction Grant Program

Allison van Pelt, Polk County Public Works presented.

6. <u>Carbon Redution Program Funding</u>

Planning Manager presented. Discussion regarding new funding program targeted at reducing transportation related emissions. Report and discussion only.

7. EV Charging Reliability and Accessibility Accelerator Program

Staff presented. Report on Notice of Funding Opportunity for EV Charging Reliability. Report and discussion only.

8. Upcoming Events

Information only.

9. Other Non-Action Items of Interest to the Committee

Staff advised that statewide TAP Funding applications are now available.

10. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday, October 5, 2023.

11. Adjournment

The MPO TTC's October 5, 2023, meeting was adjourned at 10:34 a.m.