Three designated committees form the structure of the MPO: the Transportation Technical Committee (TTC), the Executive Committee, and the MPO Policy Committee. The TTC is comprised primarily of technical staff members, including planners, engineers, and city administrators, representing member governments and participating agencies. The MPO Policy Committee includes elected officials, such as county supervisors, mayors, and city council members, and city managers. The MPO Policy Committee elects officers and at-large representatives to form the Executive Committee.

The MPO establishes and supports other subcommittees, roundtables, working groups, and advisory committees on an as-needed basis. These groups address various transportation-related issues relevant to the MPO’s responsibilities.