close up photography of yellow green red and brown plastic cones on white lined surface

Strategic Plan

The MPO Strategic Plan was adopted by the MPO Policy Committee on January 18, 2018, and will guide the Des Moines Area MPO as an organization.

MPO Strategic Plan


The MPO Policy Committee agreed in 2016 to develop the first strategic plan for the organization.  The MPO retained the services of State Public Policy Group and appointed a steering committee to lead the plan’s development.  The steering committee has met monthly since February and will wrap up the plan’s development in September.


Strategic Plan DRAFT

[googleapps domain=”docs” dir=”/file/d/1GElQ43FZVPikXQQBDjeHMzo034Jd7lKB/preview” query=”” width=”900″ height=”520″ /]

Printable PDF — MPO Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan Appendix

[googleapps domain=”docs” dir=”/file/d/1hlem0iXXpT5ebON0HpDWYUOsxg8fkSrS/preview” query=”” width=”900″ height=”520″ /]

Printable PDF — MPO Strategic Plan Appendix

Steering Committee

The eight-month strategic planning process required significant commitment of time and expertise of the 14-member Steering Committee comprising elected officials of MPO member communities.

Steering Committee Members

Bob Andeweg, Mayor, Urbandale – Steering Committee Co-Chair
Tom Armstrong, Mayor, Grimes – Steering Committee Co-Chair
Chris Coleman, Council Member, Des Moines
Angela Connolly, Supervisor, Polk County
Steve Gaer, Mayor, West Des Moines
Joe Gatto, Council Member, Des Moines
Tom Hockensmith, Supervisor, Polk County
Sara Kurovski, Mayor, Pleasant Hill
Brian Lohse, Council Member, Bondurant
Gary Lorenz, Mayor, Ankeny
Kyle Mertz, Council Member, Altoona
Stephanie Riva, Council Member, Norwalk
Linda Westergaard, Council Member, Des Moines
Dean Yordi, Supervisor, Warren County

The MPO traditionally has engaged and relied upon expertise from technical and issue experts and included Advisory Members who provided value and specific information to add value to the overall strategic planning discussions.

Advisory Members

Eric Burmeister, Executive Director, Polk County Housing Trust Fund
Ben Champ, City Manager, Pleasant Hill
Steve Eggleston, Field Office Director, U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development
Jeff Geerts, Special Projects Coordinator, Iowa Economic Development Authority
Tom Hadden, City Manager, West Des Moines
Gary Mahannah, City Administrator, Polk City
Matt McQuillen, Assistant City Manager, Clive
Tim Moerman, City Administrator, Waukee
Jim Sanders, City Administrator, Johnston
Meg Schneider, Senior Vice President, Greater Des Moines Partnership
Gretchen Tegeler, Executive Director Taxpayers Association of Central Iowa
Mark Wandro, Administrator, Polk County
Stephanie Weisenbach, Coordinator, Iowa Clean Cities Coalition