Executive Committee

The Executive Committee meets on the second Wednesday of each month. Open to the public, meetings begin at 11:30 a.m. and are held in the Burnham Room at the MPO office, located at 420 Watson Powell, Suite 200, in Des Moines, Iowa 50309. Dates and times are subject to change.

The 2019 schedule is as follows: January 9, February 13, March 13, April 10, May 15*, June 12, July 17*, August 7, September 11, October 9, November 13, and December 11. *Different from usual schedule.

The Executive Committee receives technical guidance and recommendations from the Transportation Technical Committee. The Executive Committee then offers its recommendations to the MPO Policy Committee. A majority of the Executive Committee members also serve on the MPO Strategic Plan Steering Committee.

If you have any questions about this group, or would like copies of past agendas or minutes, please contact Tracey Deckard.

Executive Committee Representatives (Effective for 2019)

Supplemental Items*
April 2019 Agenda Minutes FY 2023 STBG Funding Recommendation
FY 2019 GDMP Priority Project List 
Draft Growth Scenario Methodology Appendix
FAST Act Reauthorization Priorities
Polk County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan Public Comments & Actions Taken
March 2019 Agenda – AMENDED
March 2019 Agenda
Minutes Proposal for Compensation Consulting Services
Draft FY 2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget
February 2019 Agenda Minutes MPO-DART Memorandum of Understanding
2015-2019 Safety Targets
2nd Quarter Budget Report
January 2019 Agenda – AMENDED
January 2019 Agenda
Minutes FFY 2023 STBG Submitted Application Summary
GDMP Priority Project List 
Draft Environmental Justice Report
December 2018 Agenda Minutes
November 2018 Agenda Minutes TIP Amendment Map
Performance Measure Target Setting Report
1st Quarter Budget Report
October 2018 Agenda – AMENDED
October 2018 Agenda
Minutes TIP Amendment Map
Planning Area Boundary Update Map
September 2018 Agenda Minutes FY 2019 Investment Policy
ICAAP Pre-Applications
Special August 2018 Agenda Minutes
August 2018 Agenda Minutes FY 2019-2022 TCIP
Highway Trust Fund Draft Proposal
July 2018 Agenda – AMENDED
July 2018 Agenda
Minutes FFY 2019-2022 TIP – FINAL 
TIP Amendment Map
June 2018 Agenda – AMENDED
June 2018 Agenda
May 2018 Agenda  Minutes FY 2019 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget
TIP Amendment Map
Strategic Plan Implementation Steps
Draft Data Bike Report
April 2018 Agenda  Minutes Passenger Transportation Plan – FINAL DRAFT
FFY 2022 STBG Funding Recommendation
Goal 1 Performance Report 
FY 2018 Transportation Spending Bill Summary
March 2018 Agenda  Minutes FY 2019 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget
Priority Projects and Policies List for GDMP Annual DC Trip 
Submitted Applications Packet
Submitted Project Scores
Public Input Summary
FY 2022 Funding Recommendation

*Supplemental items included are versions that were presented at that meeting.  Please refer to the Regional Plans, MPO Initiatives or Resource Library pages of this website for final versions of documents.

Executive Committee members

The Executive Committee is comprised of seven members. These include the MPO’s three elected officers, the Chair, Vice chair and Secretary/Treasurer; the immediate past Chair; three additional members elected by the MPO Policy Committee; and at least one representative of the City of Des Moines. Current Executive Committee members include:

  • Steve Gaer, City of West Des Moines – Chair
  • Joe Gatto, City of Des Moines – Vice Chair
  • Gary Lorenz, City of Ankeny – Secretary/Treasurer
  • Angela Connolly, Polk County – At Large
  • Ted Weaver, City of Clive – At Large
  • Stephanie Riva, City of Norwalk – At Large
  • Tom Armstrong, City of Grimes  – Ex Officio

Planning to attend a meeting?

Anyone planning to attend MPO meetings who may need auxiliary aids or services should call the Des Moines Area MPO office at 515-334-0075. Please call at least 48 hours in advance so that appropriate arrangements can be made.